Mea culpa

When I was first approached about writing a blog here, I was critical of some of the other contributors for seemingly being lax in the art of freshening their entries.  It’s obvious I did not walk in their shoes prior to such a naïve comment.  It’s been quite a while since providing anything new here – and, for that, I apologize.  I will attempt to be better at it.  I suppose I could blame it on the fact that I gained two granddaughters within a three week span this summer – both of my daughters had daughters.  Or I could provide the excuse of trekking to each location, one in Northern Wisconsin, the other in New York State, to introduce them to their maternal grandpa.  It’s easy, but doesn’t provide a very strong defense.

I’m finding that writing a blog is easy to slide to a back burner while other things are heating up – especially those that put bread on the table.  I guess I’ll have to go back to writing into the wee hours of the morning – although I don’t know how I’ll be able to explain that to my dogs who are at the door with the first hint of morning light.  I’ll figure something out – ‘cause I do enjoy our visits.

First, thanks to the reader who set my record straight on the LCO Pow-Wow.  I appreciate the clarification and encourage everyone to keep me in-check when I need it.

Next, as I continue to chat with and edit interviews with artists, musicians, writers, producers and directors – for airing on the Spectrum West program on Wisconsin Public Radio – I become even more impressed with how many of you exist out there.  Although I can’t remember who it was exactly, I remember marveling about that with one interviewee, who responded with “Yup, I truly believe there’s an artist behind every Wisconsin tree”. 

An example is all the art tours that happen each spring and fall….especially the fall.  It seems there’s one or several almost every weekend in Sept/Oct.  And many are celebrating double-figure anniversaries.  The other impressive thing is the number of studios and galleries within each jaunt.

One recent discussion revealed quite a number of locations with upwards of one hundred artists – painters, sculptors, potters, woodworkers, jewelry designers, etc. – waiting to greet the motoring patron.  Pretty cool.  Brochures and websites also list places to stay and eat along the way.

So, do a search for WI Art Tours and I believe you’ll have enough to keep you busy for several weekends to come.

Thanks for stopping by and I’ll be back with more observations, sooner than later.  I’d like to introduce you to some of the interesting folks I meet along the way.

Al Ross

Leave a Reply

