Unexpected competition for fine artists

This morning while getting ready to go to my improvised studio to start a new painting, I was watching Today Show on MSNBC. One of the show’s guests was a service dog named Sam who paints. His owner sells his paintings for $1,500-$2,000 each. Actually she dips a brush in paint for Sam, the pooch holds a brush in his mouth, Sam makes few strokes on canvas and that’s it. She also trains other dogs to paint. While admiring the owner’s idea to discover creative side of her dog to help her make living in tough economy, I was wondering who would pay nearly $2,000 for Sam’s brush strokes done in few minutes. No offense Sam, although I love dogs, there is no way I would pay $2K for your strokes.

If you wish to see Sam painting check the following video clip at: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/21134540/vp/33602116#33602116

–Martina Skobic

2 Responses to Unexpected competition for fine artists

  1. I’m with you, Martina. I would like to find those people who pay such money for an “original” painting done by a creature who did not train, learn, love, and practice his art for many years, like you and I and many others have done. If I found them, I’d show them the original art my cats create when they leave the kitty litter box and track fantastic strokes across the floor. I’d be more than willing to cut out the linoleum and sell it to them. Selling a dozen or so such paintings could keep me in paints, brushes, and kitty litter for over a year.

  2. Oh my, I can *kind* of justify those prices in terms of fund raising (although I would never buy one myself), but I would totally pay $1500 for a doggie painting on Al Roker’s pants! 🙂

Leave a Reply

