Web 2.0 revolution

Very off the cuff tonight,

While off topic, I feel it’s both important and relevant to highlight what’s been happening in Iran, and what’s happening on twitter.

I posted before about the social media, web 2.0 and participating and to some degree how it can help us as artists, organizations and public service agents and entities.

Over the last few nights I’ve seen another side of what web 2.0 can do. The response to the declared election results in Iran on Friday naming Mahmoud Ahmadinejad the winner have sparked an uprising of the people against the established rule in the country.

What is amazing, heartening and scary is the way the revolution is using twitter. I’ve read article after article that has disregarded twitter as inane, stupid and a waste of time. However I’ve been following several Iranian students who are just a few of the Iranian citizens that are using twitter to get news and other communication out to the world and each other.

Unfortunately while there’s been much buzz in the media about the use of twitter in the uprising, there has been a lack of actual coverage of the goings on in Iran. I had a heartstopping 1/2 hour or so when one of the students I was following suddenly went silent. I didn’t realize how worried I was until the student was back online again. It was only then that I let out the breath I didn’t realize I was holding. What’s happening in Iran is very real and both very scary and very heartening.

This is the new web and the new world. I’m doing my part to help as I can on twitter, and if you are interested in more information hop on to twitter and search for “iranelection” or “gr88”. You can email me or DM me on twitter @heniadis for more info if you’d like.

–Spyros Heniadis

Leave a Reply

