Artprize

I just read about this new effort to change the relationship between artists and the audience. Artprize.org is the website for this American Idol style art contest.

My first thought was, “Oh, how cool!”, and I immediately wanted to enter the contest. Then I did some research, reading on the site, and I don’t think this is a contest conducive to the smaller scale photography that I work in.

I love this idea though, and I love the initiative being taken to do this. The Artprize mission is:

ArtPrize exists to reboot the conversation between artists and audiences on a grand scale

This relationship is something I’ve been thinking about lately as we continue to work on the cooperative and prepare to open our gallery. I feel change in the air and can’t wait to see what emerges as we move through these challenging and exciting times.

Spyros Heniadis

Leave a Reply

